Skip to main content

Division Contact Information

Division Mailing Address

Division of Nephrology-Hypertension
UC San Diego Health
200 West Arbor Drive, Mail Code 8409
San Diego, CA 92103

 

Leadership


Joachim Ix, M.D., MAS, FASN

Joachim H. Ix, M.D., MAS, FASN
Professor of Medicine
ixoffice@health.ucsd.edu

Division Chief, Nephrology-Hypertension
Vice Chair for Strategic Affairs, Department of Medicine
Medical Director, Sanderling Dialysis Center

Scott Mullaney, M.D., MBA

Scott Mullaney, M.D., MBA
Health Sciences Clinical Professor
smullaney@health.ucsd.edu

Clinical Service Chief, Nephrology-Hypertension
Associate Dean for Continuing Medical Education and Faculty Teaching Development
Medical Director, Inpatient Acute Services
Medical Director, DaVita Dialysis Center

Francis Gabbai, M.D.

Francis Gabbai, M.D.
Professor Emeritus
fgabbai@health.ucsd.edu

Vice Chair, Department of Medicine

Scott Thomson, M.D.

Scott Thomson, M.D.
Professor in Residence
sthomson@health.ucsd.edu

Nephrology Section Chief, VA San Diego Health System

Cynthia Miracle, M.D.

Cynthia Miracle, M.D.
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
cmiracle@health.ucsd.edu

Program Director, Nephrology Fellowship
Director, Medical Education: Clinical Transition Core
Renal Clinical Director, VA San Diego Health System

Mita Shah, M.D.

Mita Shah, M.D.
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
mshah@health.ucsd.edu

Program Director, Transplant Nephrology Fellowship
Medical Director, Renal Transplant Program
Medical Director, Kaiser Permanente Transplant Service
Medical Director, Lifesharing: Organ Procurement

Dinna Cruz, M.D., MPH

Dinna Cruz, M.D., MPH
Professor of Clinical Medicine
dncruz@health.ucsd.edu

Medical Director, San Diego County Jail Dialysis Center

Bethany Karl, D.O.

Bethany Karl, D.O.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
bkarl@health.ucsd.edu

Program Director, Acute Peritoneal Dialysis
Medical Director, Chronic Dialysis

Adnan Khan, M.D.

Adnan Khan, M.D.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
a6khan@health.ucsd.edu

Medical Director, Kidney Transplant Clinic
Medical Director, Outreach Transplant
Associate Director, Renal Transplant Program

Dena E. Rifkin, M.D., M.S.

Dena E. Rifkin, M.D., M.S.
Associate Adjunct Professor
drifkin@health.ucsd.edu

Director, Medical Education: Clinical Foundation
Director, Medical Education: Renal II Teaching

Tamara Rubenzik, M.D.

Tamara Rubenzik, M.D.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
trubenzik@health.ucsd.edu

Medical Director, Chronic Kidney Disease Clinic

Amber Sanchez, M.D.

Amber Sanchez, M.D.
Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
a6sanchez@health.ucsd.edu

Medical Director, Apheresis

Natalie Sweiss, M.D., FASN

Natalie Sweiss, M.D., FASN
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
nsweiss@health.ucsd.edu

Medical Director, Nephrology Clinical Services

Tyler Woodell, M.D.

Tyler Woodell, M.D.
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor
twoodell@health.ucsd.edu

Medical Director, Outreach Dialysis

 

Administration


Stephanie Thai

Stephanie Thai
Division Administrator
Campus Mail Code: 0857
858-246-5212
shthai@health.ucsd.edu

Rita Kurtz

Rita Kurtz
Administrative Coordinator
Campus Mail Code: 9111-H
858-552-7528
rkurtz@health.ucsd.edu

Janice Thomas

Janice Thomas
Division Coordinator / Fellowship Program Administrator, Nephrology and Transplant Nephrology
Campus Mail Code: 8409
619-471-0752
jathomas@health.ucsd.edu

 

 


Teresa White
Administrative Officer
Campus Mail Code: 9111-H
858-552-7528
t6white@health.ucsd.edu